How do I enable and use workflow (peer review) in Annotum?

Enabling Workflow in Annotum

In order to use Annotum’s review workflow, you must follow these steps:

Enable workflow in the Annotum Settings

  1. Go to the site dashboard
  2. Navigate to Appearance > Annotum Settings and find the “Workflow Options” section
  3. Select the “yes” option for “Enable Workflow” (Optionally, enable workflow notifications)
  4. Scroll to the bottom and click “Save”

If workflow is not enabled, the article status panel in the article editor will not show a “Submit for Review” button, but instead a “Publish” button:

With workflow enabled, the status panel will look like this:
.

Invite authors, reviewers, and editors to join the site, then grant them the appropriate role

Submitting Articles

Once editing is complete, authors submit their article for review. The submission process is a single click:
.

Different users (authors, editors, etc) see a different view of the article status pane depending on their permission level:

Submitted: author view

Assigning Reviewers

Once the article is submitted, Annotum then optionally notifies the editor (if email notification is disabled, the editor may simply monitor the article queue for new submissions), and the editor assigns one or more reviewers to the task.

Submitted: editor view and adding reviewers

Review process

Next, reviewers sign in, read the article, and enter comments if desired. Reviewers have a separate, private comment area as well, one not visible to Authors. Optionally, site administrators can enable a form of open-process review in which review comments (and the identity of each reviewer) is visible to the authors.

Reviewer comments

After the reviewer enters any relevant comments, which might be a question back to the editor (in effect the lead reviewer), he or she makes a recommendation: Approve, Reject, or Request Revisions.

Reviewer comments

Approval

When all the reviews are submitted (or whatever portion is sufficient according to the editorial policy of the publication) the editor makes a final ruling on the article, which again can be Approve, Reject, or Request Revisions

Approved

Once approved, the article is ready for final copyediting and publishing by a site admin (editors cannot publish); if revisions are requested the article returns to a draft status for further editing by the author(s). And if the article is rejected it is removed from the publication queue. In all cases notification is sent to the authors and editors of the final decision. The publication staff (admins) makes whatever final tweaks are required, and publishes the articles live on the public-facing web site.

Feedback and Knowledge Base